Advertising & Promotions · Personal Branding

A Course in “Tweets”, “Hooting” & “Endorsements”

Ah… the overwhelming feeling of social media, the numb feeling of social media withdrawal. The millennial need to overshare. All of these occurred due to a semester of Social Media Marketing, of which I am most grateful to have taken. Before I discuss the 5 most important things I’ve learned from this class, I would like to take the opportunity to thank professor McCorkle for dealing with my slow but progressive work in Social Media. Thank you, I appreciate the encouragement and key take-aways from you.

Be Authentic

No one wants to learn from a robot, nor do we want to see an automated response. I liked people who had personality to them, especially a little bit of humor. I tried to incorporate some of my personality into my tweets, shares and comments. Let’s be honest, there’s a lot of reputation out there, but if you can make it seem like it’s someone’s worthwhile to get to know you, then you’re doing something right.

Adapt to Feedback

I’d be lying to you if I said it’s a picnic out there and everyone’s super supportive. Even on your best day, there’s going to be some critics. Instead of overreacting, take everything as constructive and try to see it through the other person’s view. I appreciate the honesty I received back from my professor, it helped me hone on my personal branding flaws and see how I could improve on them. I’m always looking for ways to improve, there’s plenty of room for change.

Personal Branding

Social media has been like a third job to me and I’ve gained so much for my personal branding and continuing education. I always thought that my personal branding would come from my work, but social media has taught me that my brand can reach farther than I had originally thought. It’s expanded the idea that I can actually show the world what I’m made of. My passion and drive is truly unlimited thanks to social media. My favorite showcase for personal branding has been through my blog and I can’t wait to expand that to Pinterest.

Learning Never Stops

It’s awful, I know, maybe it isn’t as painful as it sounds. All of my social media have been excellent PLN’s (personal learning networks- basically a place where you can gather knowledge from others who are credible on the source). I can’t even count how many blogs I now follow, and how many times I utilize them at work or in school. It’s crazy the amount of content that is out there, just waiting to be tapped into. It’s great to learn things on topics such as: personal branding, advertising & promotions, and selling. Not only that but there’s tons of stuff on how to best incorporate tips and tactics to your social media profiles to create a strong and unified personal brand. Periscope has been a great platform to learn from professionals that you normally wouldn’t get to see.

Engagement

What’s the point of learning social media, if you aren’t going to put the effort into being SOCIAL. I can’t stress enough about how important this was for me to learn. Engagement is key. All my efforts would be for nothing if I hadn’t pushed myself out of my comfort zone and interacted with others over social media. I struggled with the whole stating my opinions and being overwhelming about negative feedback, but the engagement I’ve had with other peers and influencers has been very encouraging. I’ve found a lot of like-minded people and I’ve learned lots of things I can apply to education and career. Especially through LinkedIn, it’s incredible the type of knowledge that is at our fingertips, just waiting to be found. Not to mention the response back if you have any questions or comments.

 

Social Media has been quite a learning curve, but I think I’m catching on. I have such a different appreciation for those who do this daily, it’s never-ending! I am grateful to have taken this class, it’s taught me so much that I hope to continue to expand upon. After all, growing in all ways, always- is kind of my thing.

Check Out My Blog: Brand Me

 

Leave a Reply

